Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The Return of LucasArts - LucasFilm Games

cameltosiscameltosis Member LegendaryPosts: 3,706
From over on MOP:

LucasArts has been ressurrected as LucasFilm Games and will be doing *something* with the various IPs that Disney bought. There will be a new Indiana Jones game, developed by Bethsoft, and this new company will be taking over the reigns for future Star Wars games.

What isn't clear is what will be happening with EA. They still have an exclusive license til 2023, so it's possible that LucasFilm Games will simply be an oversight company, and EA will still develop / publish the games. Or, it may be that, given long development times, this new company has been set up now so that they can start working on games that will release from 2023 onwards.

Anyway, this gives me great hope! I've been boycotting EA since 2013 which means I haven't played a modern SW game in a long time. Not that I've missed much, theres a damn good reason I boycott EA, but this announcement gives me hope that we might start seeing more and better Star Wars games in the not too distant future.

AlBQuirkyGorweGdemamiTokken

Comments

• TwistedSister77TwistedSister77 Member EpicPosts: 1,144
    Sounds like they are just controlling the IP and outsourcing the actual game development.
    AlBQuirky
  • MendelMendel Member LegendaryPosts: 5,609
    Since it takes roughly 2 years to make almost even the simplest games, the plan might be to do future games (beyond 2023 releases) themselves.  It even seems like a practical first step to not renew expiring IP licenses.  We'll have to see what they choose to do.

Since this is LucasArts reborn, is it okay to classify them as zombies?  Maybe ZombieLA?  LucasFilms Games seems awfully pretentious, not to mention quite a mouthful.

UngoodcameltosisAlBQuirky

Logic, my dear, merely enables one to be wrong with great authority.