Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Does my hardware support 4K?

MaurgrimMaurgrim Member RarePosts: 1,325
Just a quick question on the matter.
I5 7600
16gig ram
1070ti

Thats my setup.

How will it work?

Comments

• OhhPaigeyOhhPaigey Member RarePosts: 1,517
    edited April 2019
    I have a 1080 TI and it can't consistently support 60 FPS in a lot of games.

I'd imagine the 1070 TI could get around 30 in some cases.

As someone who prefers playing at consistently 60 FPS or higher, I don't consider my 1080 TI to be enough.

I'm not a pro on hardware, but just my two cents..
    [Deleted User]Ozmodan
    When all is said and done, more is always said than done.
  • QuizzicalQuizzical Member LegendaryPosts: 25,355
    That depends on what you mean.  If your question is whether you can plug in a 4K monitor, set the resolution to 4K, and have it work as opposed to the monitor displaying a distorted image, no image at all, or blue screening, then yes, your hardware almost certainly does support 4K.

If the question is whether you can get most games to run well at 4K if you're willing to turn down whatever other settings you need to, then again, the answer is yes.  Bad UI scaling will be a bigger impediment to a good 4K experience than insufficiently powerful hardware.

If the question is whether you can run all games at 4K resolution and max all other settings, then no.  Your hardware isn't powerful enough for that.  And neither is anyone else's, though a GeForce RTX 2080 Ti would get you much closer to it than the hardware you have.
    OhhPaigeyRidelynn
  • bonzoso21bonzoso21 Member UncommonPosts: 380
    To me, that's a top-notch 1440p rig. It's certainly capable of 4k gaming, but it'll definitely be spotty sometimes.
    OhhPaigey
  • TillerTiller Member LegendaryPosts: 11,168
    bonzoso21 said: