Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

To Any MMORPG Game Developers, Past or Present

AmatheAmathe Member LegendaryPosts: 7,630
I am not myself a game developer, nor am I in any field like that.

But I have always thought it would be exciting to design and build a game that reflects my own personal vision of what a fantasy world might look like. And then I got to thinking, other than the players (whose behaviors are all over the place), does your own world that you created or help create ever surprise you? Do all the various good, bad and neutral computer NPCs and mobs ever end up doing things that were unexpected?

And I don't mean bugs. 

EQ1, EQ2, SWG, SWTOR, GW, GW2 CoH, CoV, FFXI, WoW, CO, War,TSW and a slew of free trials and beta tests

AlBQuirky

Comments

• CryomatrixCryomatrix Member EpicPosts: 3,223
    I'm not a designer, but I assume the NPC's would rebel just like in Westworld and take over the world. That would be hilarious if someone programmed that into a fantasy world. 
    Amathe
    Catch me streaming at twitch.tv/cryomatrix
    You can see my sci-fi/WW2 book recommendations. 
  • iixviiiixiixviiiix Member RarePosts: 2,256
    Yes , once i toy with world editor and create a unit with charm , but i forgot to spell immune it and it get charmed , then the PC use it charm back at me and whole units get charmed and i like WTF , but it's fun lol .

Amathe
  • ChildoftheShadowsChildoftheShadows Member EpicPosts: 2,193
    Richard Garriott talks about an interesting one here

https://youtu.be/KFNxJVTJleE
    Amathe
  • TheDarkrayneTheDarkrayne Member EpicPosts: 5,297