Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2018 State of Elyria Retrospective

Comments

• WellspringWellspring Member EpicPosts: 1,464
    Been lurking on CoE for years, but enough now.

I'm a veteran IT consultant and company director employing 30 staff, including developers. I have never in 30 years seen such an appallingly managed and communicated project before funded to near $5m.

It's my view that there has to be a line which is drawn, which once crossed represents fraudulent criminal behaviour. Seems to me personally that Caspian is very close to this given the 2018 debacle, intentionally or not. I think he needs to play very careful now.

Its one thing to miss deadlines and for large delays to be introduced in a project. But its another to not deliver on any of your commitments, repeatedly, to constantly alter fundamental aspects of the original commit, and not to provide clear and more realistic remedial plans. And without any consequences to date. And then to act like he has to the community which provided his income for the last several years... its... quite unbelievable really.

Frankly, at least SC has produced something - even if we can all agree its currently way off expectation, more deeply funded and CR is a total dreamer / marketeer. I was lucky enough to pull my $3k+ invest there before the portcullis dropped, and whilst tempted I never put funds into CoE as a result.

If this ends up in a pile of poop and no legal action happens to hold people to account on behalf of supporters, it will frankly be a travesty. Just my opinion though, and I'm sure there are alternative views.

Crowdfunding terms cannot be allowed to become a direct hall pass for making commitments you know you cannot deliver on to entice people to give you their money. That hurts us all, and its wrong.

Slap is right to call it. Period.