Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How intensive is it to upgrade graphics for an existing game?

CryomatrixCryomatrix Member EpicPosts: 3,223
I'm not a programmer at all. However, would it be super difficult for a company to let's say, take Star Wars Galaxy, update the graphics to modern standard and then relaunch if the code is similar?

Seems like a cheap way to make money, but I don't know how intensive is it? Do you have to recreate all art assets with a new program? Could you use sharper textures? 

Basically, I don't know, so looking for people who know what it takes so I can elarn. 

Cryomatrix
Catch me streaming at twitch.tv/cryomatrix
You can see my sci-fi/WW2 book recommendations. 

Comments

• btdtbtdt Member RarePosts: 523
    You have to recreate all the art assets... that can be simple or complicated, depending on how everything was done.  Then you have to factor in the limitations of the graphics engine being used.  The graphics engine defined the limits under which you had to work.  So it's never as simple as redoing all the graphics... it affects a lot of other things.

It's basically time consuming.  
    Calaruil
  • k4tek4te Member CommonPosts: 11
    It's a lot of work. They need to recreate all of the art assets and some models will have to be recreated to add more texture  as well. 

Let's just say it's near the amount of time needed to create an entire game, minus all the coding, a majority of the debugging and testing phase and voice acting. In short, still a lot of work.
  • SirAgravaineSirAgravaine Member RarePosts: 520
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_engine#Rendering_engine