Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

ESO- what game does it compare with the most?

BACONXBACONX Member UncommonPosts: 253
I have played a lot of MMOs in the last 15 to 20 Years. Jumped in and out of into Guild Wars 2, EQ2, WOW and LOTRO. ESO is the last Major MMO I have yet to try but I'm always hesitant to throw down money for something new, given the times I have been burned.  I have played other Elder Scroll games but not heavily nor am I very familiar with the lore.  So, without trying to create a pro or against discussion or a critique- I just want to know what game ESO compares to the most.  Thanks.

Comments

• MexenlivesMexenlives Member UncommonPosts: 42
    I've been playing MMO's for around 18 years.  Out of the ones you mentioned I have played ESO more than those others combined.  EQ1 has the most hours.  

I played the beta till before the Thieves Guild and it was worth it.  I may check back in on it soon.
  • BACONXBACONX Member UncommonPosts: 253
    What game though would ESO have the most similarity with- compared to the ones you have played in the past?
  • LokeroLokero Member RarePosts: 1,514
    There's really not much to compare it to in the MMO genre.  Like Torval said, it's designed to feel like an Elder Scrolls game.

Combat wise, with the active blocking/dodging and whatnot, I guess maybe TERA is a comparison?  I've never played TERA, so I don't know how much they resemble one another, however.

If you've played Skyrim, then you have a pretty good idea what the gameplay will be like.
  • immodiumimmodium Member RarePosts: 2,610
    edited January 2017
    Lokero said:

Combat wise, with the active blocking/dodging and whatnot, I guess maybe TERA is a comparison?  I've never played TERA, so I don't know how much they resemble one another, however.