Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What would it take for you to become an indie developer?

DKLondDKLond Member RarePosts: 2,273
On a serious level, what would it take for you to drop whatever you're doing now - and just go for it?

Comments

• CleffyCleffy Member RarePosts: 6,412
    Money, around $100k.
  • VrikaVrika Member LegendaryPosts: 7,888
    Skill, knowledge, experience, motivation and money.

• SpottyGekkoSpottyGekko Member EpicPosts: 6,916
    DKLond said:
    On a serious level, what would it take for you to drop whatever you're doing now - and just go for it?
    A gun to the head ?

I've been a software developer all my life, but in business applications, not games. At least in business apps, you never get death threats from users... :D 
  • DKLondDKLond Member RarePosts: 2,273
    DMKano said:
    There is nothing in the world that would make me want to be a developer of any sort. I am happy being a locust. 

If someone wants to be an indie developer all they need is desire and skill obviously  - because you can develop a game alone, many indies have done so.

Another option is rpgmaker.
    If skill and desire was enough, I'd be making games all day long.

Ambition and energy, sadly, are needed too :)

But I'm not asking what it takes - but what would make others do it.

Just curious.
  • SovrathSovrath Member LegendaryPosts: 32,001
    DKLond said:
    DMKano said:
    There is nothing in the world that would make me want to be a developer of any sort. I am happy being a locust. 

If someone wants to be an indie developer all they need is desire and skill obviously  - because you can develop a game alone, many indies have done so.

Another option is rpgmaker.
    If skill and desire was enough, I'd be making games all day long.

Ambition and energy, sadly, are needed too :)

But I'm not asking what it takes - but what would make others do it.

Just curious.