Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Building a new computer questions from a noob

flguy147flguy147 Member UncommonPosts: 507
Hey everybody,  a year ago i sold my gaming laptop which i have been a pc gamer for many years but decided to slow down on MMOs due to having a new daughter and decided just to get a PS4 to play more casually.  I really miss playing on a PC/laptop especially the graphics are so much better but i have always wanted to build my own desktop but i have zero knowledge on how to build one and afraid i would mess it all up with my very limited computer knowlege.  So a couple questions?

1.  If i decided to go with a nvidia 980 or maybe 970 for now, what price point would i be looking at to build a solid gaming rig with everything included?

2.  I have heard in the past that its not good to hook up your PC to your TV to use as a monitor but i would actually prefer to do this.  I normally play at night before going bed so i enjoy the comfort of it.  So is this an ok idea now or is it still not a good idea?  Assuming something technology in the past made it not recommended.

3.  Are most PC games able to use controllers?  of course some i would prefer the mouse and keyboard but some controller. 

4.  How hard would it honestly be for somebody with such limited computer knowledge to build one and get everything working correctly?  

Thanks for your help

Comments

• Slapshot1188Slapshot1188 Member LegendaryPosts: 16,947
    edited November 2015
    Hey.  I'll let someone else take a stab at #1 because there is a lot more to the price than just the video card.  You can build a $1000 machine with either or a $3000 machine with either :-1: 

2. You CAN play on a TV.. biggest drawback for me would be response time. gaming Monitors are very fast but TVs usually not so much.  Would cause blurring.. but maybe the newest models address that