Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mafia 3 and Race In Video Games

klash2defklash2def Member EpicPosts: 1,949
edited August 2015 in General Gaming

Its 2015. Why are we still dealing with race issues in something as diverse as video games? Really think about this. 

Recently the game series Mafia announced that the main character, Lincoln Clay is actually black and the story takes place in New Orleans. I read this and thought awesome! Finally some diversity this is much needed. I was very surprised to find out that most of the gaming community did not share that same excitement and were actually UPSET that the guy was black. This got me to thinking.. why dont video games feature more (not just black)  people of color? 

I am a 28 yr old african american male. I am a Marine Veteran and I have a Degree in Marketing and Web-Design with a focus in online gaming. I never once in my life really thought about or considered race ever in my time playing video games. Ive been playing my entire life and it never once dawned on me until this thing with Mafia 3. 
Lets really think about this and what it means. Its not a secret how black people came to this country everybody knows this, and because of this its also not a secret black people were painted as inferior from the start. Its also not a secret that when Europeans came to this country they practically stole it from the Natives and once again painted a whole race of people as inferior. (See the theme?)

"Klash2def why are you bringing up the past?"