Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

About guilds

I just started playing DAoC a couple weeks ago. I run around with the newbe guild tag still on. Sorta my way of saying "I really am a newbe" (there's no shame in it, we're all new once). I get asked to join a guild on nearly a hourly basis.

I played EQ for about 4 years. In EQ each server has a very small number "uber" guilds (generally 1-3) if you want to see all the game content you will join one of those guilds. Uber guilds will take players that are the maximum level (and maybe with a certain number of AA's and good loot). Unfortunately if you want to experience anything other exp grinding, you really need to be in a guild. And it's often impossible to meet "uber" guilds expectations for new members without being in a lesser guild.

Most players somewhere in 40's will join a small guild. You play with them, maybe get your epic, then move to a better guild, then swap again for another. It's very common to trade up your guilds as you progress.

This causes allot of stress and generally ugliness, but you really don't have allot of options if you want to see places like VP, ST, VT, PoTime (depending on your own EQ timeline) or all the other "uber" guild only zones.

Due to the "l33t" nature of "uber" guilds membership is a difficult path. I spent over 7 months getting into my last guild.

Is the high end game of DAoC much the same? If you join a guild early is only to leave it later when you out grow it? I hate to join guilds just to leave them.

How many people does it take to kill the "uber_dragon_01" for the "phat lewt"? Or is RvR the high end game?

How depenant is RvR on being in a certain guild?

Thank you for your responce

-=-=-=-=-