Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How do MMORPGs go defunct?

I'm somewhat relatively new to the MMO world and was wondering specifically - what happens to MMOs when they die? Does anyone have a list of "failed" MMOs? (And by "failed" I mean "officially launched and then went kaput" not "promised but never released/launched")

Thanks1

Comments

• DjinDjin Member, Newbie CommonPosts: 3,263

If your character dies in a MMORPG you get penilized and start back at town...  and for the list,  I think the list would be huge!  There's tons that came out and flopped...

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
    E.T. is alive...
    MMORPG.com - Gramp Staff

What will he do next?
  • neeelaneeela Member Posts: 12

Well, thanks! I didn't mean what happens when you die....

but I'd love to see a list of failed MMORPGs.

• squeeesqueee Member Posts: 722
    The only one I know of that has failed is Motor City Online.  The next two to fail will probably be Asheron's Call 2 and PlanetSide(damn that game had potential).  And there is probably an endless list of no name MMOG that have failed.  Other that that, I am stumped.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    My software never has bugs. It just develops random features.
    Why doesn't DOS ever say "EXCELLENT command or filename!"

Customer: "How fast will my COM ports go?"
    Tech Support: "How hard can you throw your computer?"

Oh and to answer your when they die question.  When they die, they die.  All your characters and items and time disapear into the vastness of space.  Unless of course they release the server code.  Wich also I have never seen hapen.  They just die and are not spoken of again for 32 and a half years.image

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gotcha. Thanks!

It would seem, with the flood to market in the last few years, that there'd be more of them.