Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

EverQuest Next and the 60% Done Comment

2»

Comments

• AmbrosiaAmorAmbrosiaAmor Member Posts: 915
    Originally posted by vorpal28

Different companies will have different definition's for what an alpha is, and from comments read here it seems alot of people don't understand what is meant by alpha builds.

Where I work as a developer we class an alpha build as a fully working prototype, with all planned feature's written and working. It's at this point we say the alpha is ready and then begin the next task which is to optimise the build and fine tune everything.

Now for us we don't have to worry about investors, so we can, as a company, do it this way, other places I have worked have classed barely working software as an alpha build and essentially built the software and called it an alpha.

It all depends on your understanding of software development and constraints that the company is under to produce a working product.

Thank you, Nadia, and others who work in the field for your responses. It definitely gives me a new perspective. To be honest one of the main reasons I opened up this thread was due to the fact that every couple of weeks someone was opening a new thread that either had to do "Where is EverQuest Next" or "Is It Coming Out Soon." For me personally the main point wasn't so much about the 60%, but rather what was expanded on in the following comment.

At the moment EverQuest Next is about 60% feature complete and when Landmark open beta is announced they will be mostly done with the game's features. This could be anywhere from 80 to 90 percent. But even then, that isn't the main point. The main point is what he stated after that.