Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GW2's Downed mode: Is this a gameplay element you MMO gamers would like to see more of in future MMO

2»

Comments

• AlBQuirkyAlBQuirky Member EpicPosts: 7,432

Originally posted by boxsnd
    I don't mind the downed system in PvE but it is absolutely terrible for PvP. Hopefully it will die with GW2.
    I have no experience with this in PvP, but in my time playing GW2, rarely did I ever get out of trouble with it. Throwing dirt and hitting the heal button when it pops just delayed the inevitable death for me. Never did any other player come to help and only a handful of times did I actually recover enough to fight again. I kept wishing, when I fell to the ground, that there was a "kill self" key :)

- Al

Personally the only modern MMORPG trend that annoys me is the idea that MMOs need to be designed in a way to attract people who don't actually like MMOs. Which to me makes about as much sense as someone trying to figure out a way to get vegetarians to eat at their steakhouse.
    - FARGIN_WAR

• observerobserver Member RarePosts: 3,685

Absolutely not.

It was good in theory, but in practice, it doesn't work that well.  In PVE, people go down because of stupid 1-shot mechanics and terrible A.I. encounters.  The lack of a casting bar for A.I., lack of a visual icon above their heads, and flashy effects obscuring the indicators, almost makes it impossible to react in a nano-second.  That's bad game design.  The player should never feel punished because of shoddy design encounters.  Another problem, is that, it makes players waste time reviving people.

It's also not that great in PvP either.  The zergs make it impossible to ever actually get up again.  It works better with organized groups though.

Overall, i'd rather just have a quick death, so i could revive and get back into the action faster.

• dreamscaperdreamscaper Member UncommonPosts: 1,592