Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Live Forum Q&A Ryan Elam - PlanetSide 2

PS2_RElamPS2_RElam PlanetSide 2 Technical DirectorMember Posts: 11

Hello folks!

My name is Ryan Elam, and I am the Technical Director for PlanetSide 2.  

I've been coding for 35 years, and making games for most of that time.  I worked on one of the first multiplayer RPGs ever, and later on games such as EverQuest, Vanguard, FreeRealms, Clone Wars, and helped turn Planetside Next into Planetside 2.  My greatest skill is the ability to luck into an amazing team of engineers, and then watch them make improbable things happen in an impossible timeframe.

PlanetSide 2 is an extremely ambitious MMOFPS and an awesome challenge to work on.  Daily we are met with unique problems to solve and I go to bed most nights proud of what we've been able to accomplish, the other nights I don't go to bed. *grin*

I'm here today to talk about our most recent mission, Operation: Make Faster Game (OMFG).  We have known since before Planetside 2 shipped that we had some things we could do to improve the frame rate, but they were going to be a significant time sink and therefore difficult to do in a live environment.  A few months ago, we got the call from smed to put the whole team towards doing whatever it took to get performance up, and since then that's what we've been doing.  We JUST put the first phase of this onto our Public Test Server (PTS) and a vast majority of players are seeing signifant increases in FPS!