Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Eyefinity capture for youtube - Help

NitthNitth Member UncommonPosts: 3,904

hi looking to do a few eyefintiy videos for youtube and im kind of new at video capturing.

Ive tried a bunch of video capture software and it seems that dxtory is the most flexable, but im having problems outputting a decent fps in the file.

I can take the performance hit, and my in game fps goes down to 20-30, but file fps is locked at 10. Doing a bit of reading it seems that my hdd might be to slow to keep up with the required bitrate.

looking at a few websites the requirement calculation is as follows:

(5760 x 1080 x 3 x 20)

RGB24 YUV24:
Width x Height x 3 x fps = bitrate (byte/sec)

Using that codec works out to be 355~mb/s (if i calculated it right) which seems extreme.(my current throughput is 169mb/s)

whats the best way to go, am i limited by hardware or is there codec or scaling options?

Doing a quick youtube search, this guy is presenting a eyefinity youtube video with acceptable fps. that would be something to shoot for i guess.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=863wpWypz0g

TSW - AoC - Aion - WOW - EVE - Fallen Earth - Co - Rift - || XNA C# Java Development

Comments

• syntax42syntax42 Member UncommonPosts: 1,378

YouTube's aspect ratio is only 16:9.  The black bars at the top and bottom of the 48:9 videos make the content so small that it doesn't seem very enjoyable to watch.  As a result, I fail to see the reasoning for attempting such a capture, aside from a novelty video or tech demo.

If you really want to capture at that bit rate, you need a solid-state drive.  As you pointed out, you reached the limit on mechanical drive write rates.  Here is an article which compares speeds of some newer SSDs, but others have release since then which might be faster.