Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

To any law students/lawyers

AziruAziru Member UncommonPosts: 8

Hello,

I am a 23 year old student with a pesky dillema.  Last semester i was renting a room from a female at an apartment just outside of Umass Amherst. She was living there but didnt like the other roommates that she signed the lease with, so she found another place and was put on a lease with her fellow girl mates.She told me that it was going to be $350 a month plus utilities, and that i was going to live there starting Feb to Sept. She asked for a direct deposit to her of $400, i had her sign the reciept from the bank stating that i gave her $400 dollars. She said she was going to use that for that month of rent since she already put her direct deposit to the landlord.

I went to the agency where i had to pay for the 2nd month (march) and they said she was missing a month of payment, so i payed $700 thinking she must have kept the money for the last month. The first week of May a letter came in the mail saying that if the people on the lease ( the current roommates and her) signed this paper they could terminate the lease early. If the lease goes through everyone would have to be out by May 24th.  This was signed without telling me. I was forced to move out and back to Springfield (which is 50 min away)the week of finals at Umass. It was terrible. I also transfered my position from the Springfield Big Y to the Amherst BigY , thinking i was living there that summer . I was forced to commute to work all summer.