Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

SWG strategy guide - worth buying after latest upgrades?

docminusdocminus Member Posts: 717

since I am planning on getting SWG I thought I might as well get the strategy guide since there is so much info (and you can read "offline").
With the new upgrades implementet - is it worth it?

While I am at it: when do I get the expansions? right away? after I get bored with the standard content?

thanx in advance.

imageimage

Comments

• TheWarcTheWarc Member Posts: 1,199
    I guess not really..image
    They've changed too much
  • SonOfAGhostSonOfAGhost Member Posts: 383

I just started playing in January to join some of my RL friends have played since launch. A couple of them have the book, it's now completely worthless. They didn't do a patch, they made a new game. It's now EQ2 with a star wars skin (though still with EQ2 animations and icons). Do NOT buy the guide, unless you like to play alone you should want to reconsider buying the game too.

Being fairly new I was still pretty enthusiastic about the game until the CU (Combat "Upgrade"). Not anymore, they turned it into a button mashing game with a garish, illogical interface and people are quitting in the <B><U>thousands</U></B> again after already losing thousands to WoW. If they market well with the new movie and coming expansion pack they may get enough of an influx of new people to keep a few servers running for another 6 months but the writing is on the wall. It was already a bit of a ghost town when I started but now entire guilds are leaving for other games enmasse. Mostly to Guild Wars but quite a few to WoW as well. Across the board though it's a matter anyone but SOE for who they buy their next game from.