Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Looking for something different

UnfarshUnfarsh Member Posts: 1

Hi,

I'm brand new to the MMO gaming scene. I'm an old fan of the stand alone RPGs series such as Wizardry, Ultima and Might & Magic.  The aspect I liked most about these games was the intriguing story. Ultima stood out from the rest as consistently having the best graphics, audio, story, role-playing elements and interactivity with the world. 

Since Ultima died, I have not really found an RPG I liked.  I haven't tried them all but most of them are just not up to snuff. Baldur's Gate, Elder Scrolls, Dragon Age, all this stuff is okay but definetly lacking in quality of story. 

Is there any recommendations for MMOs that might suit me? I want something that is not combat-based, where there is genuine interactivity, freedom and some kind of plot, not just some bullshit clickfest quests.

So far,I have tried LOTR and Conan a bit. They all look like clones of one another.  Most people on there are not interested in any sort of role-playing. They are just mindlessly XP building or hanging out with friends like chat room.  A good game makes you grow as human being. I still think about Ultima and what it means to me in real life.  These MMO are seriously sad.  Their stories just are not as indepth as the old, text-based MUDs. This makes any role-playing aspect to the games also lacking, since most people will not get into a story that doesn't exist.  UO is still there but is it still the cutting edge of role-playing?

Anybody recommend anything? Graphics are irrelevent to good story, script and interactivity.

Cheers,

Unfarsh

Comments

• pongdunpongdun Member UncommonPosts: 81

Hi friend