Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Longevity of D3? Please explain.

yangdudeyangdude Member UncommonPosts: 72

First post, Hi!!

I am a noob at mmo's generally so forgive the question.

I was discussing D3 (I'm interested in the RMAH) with a friend whos played D1 and D2 and who is a big fan of D3.  I was trying to find out why D3 isnt really an MMO per se, and during the explanation my friend said something like, D3 is essentially one long campaign and that when you get through it, then its over, and for that reason there is no longevity to the game.

This doesnt really make sense to me because it seems the resources that have been put into producing the game must be astronomical so why produce something so seemingly finite.  (I'm trying to compare this idea with the mmo I'm still playing - PWI - which is still lingering after 3 years - obviously playing pwi makes me want to find something new)

Does D3 have longevity?  Will it be around in 2 years or 5 or more or less.  Please give me your opinions.  I enjoy immersing myself in a game so I dont want to start something that isnt around for long, and I dont have time to play lots of different mmo's at the same time.  Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Comments

• MikkelBMikkelB Member Posts: 240

Originally posted by yangdude

First post, Hi!!

I was discussing D3 (I'm interested in the RMAH) with a friend whos played D1 and D2 and who is a big fan of D3.  I was trying to find out why D3 isnt really an MMO per se, and during the explanation my friend said something like, D3 is essentially one long campaign and that when you get through it, then its over, and for that reason there is no longevity to the game.