Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

POLL: Would you rather play SWToR or Pre CU/NGE SWG with new engine/polish?

Being an SWG veteran I am sad to see that giant gone (though it was really gone a long time ago). And I wonder how many would prefer this game to be reborn under new direction as opposed to play Bioware's Star Wars, The Old Republic?

SWG had flaws, bugs, lack of polish, but offered deep crafting, non-combat classes, housing, pet classes unlike any of today, socializing like reason to spend time with others in hospitals, cantinas and around camp fires. I can't even begin to mention the fun conversations I have had around camp fires in that game while waiting for the next round of adventure. The game also offered the opportunity to mix classes.

Many years later SWG is dead, not supported or given the chance I think it deserved and broken by NGE/CU fixes. And along comes Bioware's SWToR. SWToR appeal maybe more to the singleplayer crowd. No one can claim it is sandbox, true massive multiplayer. What it does offer is fixed storylines, voice acting, tons of polish, rail shooter and group options.

So what would you prefer - SWG REBORN or SWToR as it is launching now??

(unfortunately we are only offered the one)

Comments

• ExcessionExcession Member RarePosts: 709

oh look, another thinly veiled attempt at claiming SW:TOR is not an MMO.

I voted for SW:TOR as it is, even though I could claim to be an SWG vet, having had 5 active accounts up until the NGE hit, but why bother?

SWG was fun, but it had its time, it is over.

SW:TOR may not be a sandbox, but so what? it is still an MMO, it is still fun (in my opinion) to play, it is still Star Wars, and lets be honest here, it is definately not as buggy as SWG was.

A creative person is motivated by the desire to achieve, not the desire to beat others.

• DraccanDraccan Member Posts: 1,050

Originally posted by Byrhofen