Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Computer Help

jml816jml816 Member Posts: 53

Hey all,

I am new to building computers but I was wondering if somebody could essentially tell me what to buy.  My budget is around $1000.  I will be playing Guild Wars 2, Battlefield 3, Rift...etc.. Could somebody make a list of what to get that would run these games as well as possible considering my budget?

Thanks

Comments

• QuizzicalQuizzical Member LegendaryPosts: 25,348

Can you assemble a computer from parts yourself, or do you need to pay someone else to do it for you?  You can get better value for the money if you can do it yourself.

• jml816jml816 Member Posts: 53

I can put it all together.  Just not entirely sure what to get.

• DMTalchemistDMTalchemist Member Posts: 23

Tower only?

"LOL"

Ok I have no idea if that was a joke or not but no.  I need everything.  The parts have got to be able to run those games well

To explain DMT's question, when buying a new computer, a lot of people buy a case and everything that goes inside, but not new peripherals.  A monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers, or surge protector is trivial to upgrade independently of everything else, so people commonly re-use the old peripherals. and upgrade or replace them when a part fails, they're no longer happy with its performance, or whatever.

It's much harder to do that with components that go inside the case.  It's not just that they're harder to get at, but there are compatibility issues.  The processor, motherboard, and memory often need to be upgraded together, as the new parts aren't compatible with the old.  Other parts are somewhat more practical to upgrade independently, but there are often still good reasons to replace the case and everything inside it all at once.  Those reasons don't apply to peripherals.