Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Laptop

TyesisTyesis Member Posts: 17

Ok, so I am currently in the process of trying to sell my M14x.

I am a college student and bought it knowing I had X dollars coming in over the summer.  I didn't get as much as I thought I over the summer so need to reinvest in a cheaper notebook.

My budget would have to be no more than $1000 US.  I am looking for something durable, reliable, and at least somewhat powerful.  I don't play any of the graphic intensive games like the FPS' on my laptop (have an XBOX 360).  I would be interested in playing Starcraft 2 and Lotro at the current time.  But future games I would like to be able to play are Torchlight 2, Diablo 3, and Guild Wars 2 (maybe WAR Wrath of Heroes when released).  I don't need them to play on max OMG look at that! settings.  I usually run Lotro on no more than High and SC2 on lowest/medium.  Doesn't bother me at all.

If at all possible could the fans not sound like a blowdryer like the M14x's. : )

Any suggestions would be appreciated. 

Thanks ahead of time.  : )

PS  No Dells please

Comments

• djnexusdjnexus Member Posts: 677

Well if your looking for a deal and looking to save some cash check out my posts on this thread here:

http://www.mmorpg.com/discussion2.cfm/thread/327734/Sub-500-laptop-that-will-play-SWTOR.html

The ASUS Laptop I mention in this thread I got for $480 and im currently running the new Battlefield 3 open beta on medium settings. I can run Rift on medium to high settings. Make sure and max out the RAM for an extra $20 if you get this laptop. You cant find a laptop this cheap that will run games like this for under $500.

• TyesisTyesis Member Posts: 17
    Have 2 questions:

Do I really need the i7 quad cOre or will the i5 be sufficient because won't that cut down on heat of the notebook?