Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

$1000 build

Blargus333Blargus333 Member Posts: 7

First time building my own pc, hoping someone can help me come up with a build. Only restriction is the video card must be nVidia. I do some modding on older openGL games which have problems with most of the radeon drivers. I do need a copy of windows 7 home, but I don't need a monitor or any peripherals. I would like to avoid fancy cooling systems, since this is my first time setting up a pc. I have a nice $85 pair of headphones (sennheiser hd555), so hopefully I can afford to put a decent soundcard into the build. Any help is appreciated :)

Edit:  I would prefer whats cheap now over rebates, not interested in overclocking, live in CA USA, 500gb hardrive is more than enough, 250gb will work fine.  Also the room in which I use the computer is HOT during the summer: 100-110*F.

Comments

• QuizzicalQuizzical Member LegendaryPosts: 25,353

A few questions:

1)  Do you do rebates?  More to the point, if part A is cheaper than part B after rebate, but part B is cheaper before rebate, which would you prefer?

2)  Do you overclock?

3)  Are you in the United States?

4)  How much storage space do you need?

-----

You should be warned that Nvidia has pretty much lost this generation.  They do have cards on the market, of course, and you can buy them, but they're usually not that good of a deal.  

AMD's video drivers are about as good as Nvidia's drivers for modern games.  I'm not sure if that extends back to older games, though, so you might be right that you need an Nvidia card.

• bezadobezado Member UncommonPosts: 1,127

Originally posted by Quizzical

A few questions:

1)  Do you do rebates?  More to the point, if part A is cheaper than part B after rebate, but part B is cheaper before rebate, which would you prefer?

2)  Do you overclock?

3)  Are you in the United States?