Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Grind?

superdfcsuperdfc Member Posts: 56

I've had plenty of bad experience with Korean MMOs. Most tend to send you into a world with little objective other than kill, kill, kill. There never seems to be a purpose to what I"m doing, and the killing takes more and more time as I advance until I can't advance due to bordom or frustration with the slow levelling speed. 

Does anyone know if this game has anti-grind philosphies, or more importantly, a purpose? If the game placed you in an interesting world full of quests I'd play, but many Korean games tend to ignore quests and emphasize killing.

Comments

• bygeorgebygeorge Member UncommonPosts: 104

In the korean version of the game, grinding was the quickest way to level. However, many players have said they were able to reach max level solely from questing and instances, without even being able to read korean. The game did turn more group-centric towards later levels, with more emphasis on party mobs and dungeons. Recent patches have made the game more solo friendly.

• lethyslethys Member UncommonPosts: 585

Ideal for me would be both group and solo content.  Never really both in these games.  Group stuff for guilds and such, solo for, well, solo when you play at odd hours.

• Biodth88Biodth88 Member Posts: 16

I am currently playing the Korean version of Tera and If you want to grind you have the option but you can get to cap purely by doing quests and instances.  The only real grind there is in Tera is just like what WoW/Rift or any other popular mmo has.

As far as group content is concerned there are times where you are forced to get a group to move the main story quests along (level 20+) which for an english speaking person in a korean game can be difficult unless you find an english speaking guild like I have.