Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

General: The Slippery Slope of Stereotyping

2»

Comments

• dracualdracual Member Posts: 6

Originally posted by astoria

I'm a successful attorney, singer in a band and covered in tattoos. I am a white male - but my wife is neither white nor male and she games a little with me. You never know now who is an avid gamer. Was in an airport waiting on a delayed flight a few weeks ago (for work, in a full suit & tie) and this guy must have been 60 and looked over at me playing Age of Conan, asked "where are you?" and I said "sorry?" and he said "what zone?" I told him "field of the dead" and a minute later his avatar walked up and waved. We farmed leather until our plane came.

a similar thing happened to me but it was on a game called knight Online. I was at the greyhound station sitting on my laptop soling golems when i noticed a character run up beside me and drop a few novas slaughtering the spawn. i got a pm saying "Look behind you" there was a girl about 24-25 sitting on her laptop and waving at me... we've been friends for 3 years now...

• ArckenArcken Member Posts: 2,431

The people offended by stereotypes are the one giving them power. If everyone stopped being so prideful and egotistical we could laugh at how funny stereotypes are and no one would be offended.

• CecropiaCecropia Member RarePosts: 3,985

Originally posted by Arcken

The people offended by stereotypes are the one giving them power. If everyone stopped being so prideful and egotistical we could laugh at how funny stereotypes are and no one would be offended.

I don't often agree with you, but this is pure truth. The people that react are the fuel for the fire.