Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Rift: The Official Review

Comments

• HerodesHerodes Member UncommonPosts: 1,494

8.7 is okay for me, mmkay a bit high maybe. But if you lower it, then you have to degrade many games here by ~.5

Now I am not a professional game tester and such, just the idiot who plays games for fun. But when I look at the technical part of the game, it seems to be a 9+. Game runs like butter, enough content at release, Massive Multiplayer possible in a non instanced open world (no Freemarch 1,2,3...), next level of open grouping.

Then there is the actual game. I am so bored of it, because I played this kind of MMO for years already - but this is a matter of taste. For what this game is, a "Mostly PvE-MMO" I guess, it has too few activities besides killing mobs. There is more possible than standard crafting and collecting shinies.

• boojiboyboojiboy Member UncommonPosts: 1,553

It seems that the reviewer played the game up to the point where I'm finding many people fading away or quitting.  I'm still playing Rift and enjoying it, but there is just this certain 'dull-ness' factor that is creeping in and I've seen a number of friends just stop playing already.  Someone said Rift is a game without a Soul, and it is starting to feel that way to me.

For me the biggest detractor of Rift is linearity, or feeling like I'm on the exact same rails as everybody else.  Although the landscapes are beautiful, they also feel small and confining.  In Vanguard you could get seriously lost and eating my something bad and never get back to your tombstone.  In Rift, death can be a means of quicker travel and the landmass really isn't big enough to give you the sense of exploration or discovery.

• GatheredMystGatheredMyst Member UncommonPosts: 11