Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

General: Rumor: SOE Layoffs & Studio Closings

2»

Comments

• LobotomistLobotomist Member EpicPosts: 5,965

Originally posted by misles

As I posted in another thread:

Maybe I can help shed some light on the subject in terms of corporate thinking. 

Now I'm not calling anyone stupid, but I did get a first hand look at how they handle things.  I was like these poor guys that got laid off.  I worked in manufacturing for eight years close to nine in pharmacuticals.  The higher ups were telling their investors: "Yes, we can absolutely do it in this time frame.  You have my word on it."

As an operator (technician), I looked at the higher up and went: "Wait, what?  There's no way we can do it in that time frame.  Not with what you gave us to work with."  And other operators told the higher ups the same thing.  if we rushed our projects just to meet their time frame, which always meant money in their pockets, the project would be ruined.

Regardless, they told us to get it done and in THEIR time frame.

We did.  And what we warned them about happened.  We lost alot of product because of the rushed and "floor chemistry" that was done.  What happened?  There was a blood letting where I worked.  The higher ups didn't take the blame for THIER inability to tell the truth to the investor.  So someone had to be punished.  And it was us.  I was one of those people.

This is the mindset of the corporate world.  I feel very bad for those that lost their jobs.  It was wrong.  The best people who do the hardest work are the ones to always be let go.  They are the ones blamed.  You will never see those with money take the hit.

While i totally agree with what you said above.

I must say that in high-tech. I have seen project managers being fired left and right.

They are first to take the blame.

Than its cutting all extra force from dirty work people.