Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Steam Sale - First Impressions

gauge2k3gauge2k3 Member Posts: 442

I'm going to try to be unbiased and look at this from the point of view of the key demographic targeted.

The initial tutorial and controls were great.  The tutorial was fun, and moderately challenging at the end for me, as I was an engineer.

Dome city is the only HUB for the game really.  It's very nice looking and is laid out above average.  Not great, but there is definately work that could be done.  But that's ok because there are these terminals you can use that will put moving arrows on the ground for you if you get lost to where you want to go.

Quests.  Oh god these are aweful.  I dare say the scripting is worse than WoW.  The story will put you to sleep after only a few.  I'm a bug story guy, so for me to push it off, you know it' bad.  The actual quests mechanics are standard fodder.  Go here and kill these guys, or press "U" (for use) on stuff.  A cool thing about questing is the fact that it autoloots for you, and there essentially is no meaningless loot in the game as everything is either used for crafting, used, or salvaged for crafting parts.

On the same not, the quest line is VERY short.  Maybe 8-10 hours of gameplay with extremely casual play.  There are some challenging instanced zones which are doable solo if you have some decent RPG and FPS knowledge.  If not, you're boned and need to find a team because the end boss will destroy you.  I managed to finish these solo on the first attempt.  the last mission of all the quests took me awhile as the boss kept 1 shotting my turret lol.  I fought him for I think 6 or 7 minutes.