Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Character slots. What do YOU think a fair starting number would be?

RoybeRoybe Member UncommonPosts: 420

I think we all can agree that we will not have enough character slots.  In Prohecies the limiting thing was professions, with 6 professions we could only make 4 different professions.  Even though every released addition/expansion with new professions gave us the slots to make one of each we remained 2 slots short unless we purchased those original 2 slots.  In GW2 we have three options for limitation: professions, races, or some arbitrary number decided by AN or NCSoft.  With 40 race/profession combinations available for choosing, what is a fair number of character slots to start the game with?

Someone asked for a poll..so here you go!  (Sorry for not putting it up sooner, noob here!)

Comments

• Elox1Elox1 Member Posts: 211

I think they should include 6 slots like before and for those with alt-itis they can purchase extra slots.  Remember this is not a P2P so they need to recoup costs for those that want to store more data on the servers by making tons of characters.

• DiovidiusDiovidius Member UncommonPosts: 1,026

At least 8, one for each profession. Sure, you can't experience every class/race/personality/background combination but I think that for gameplay profession is by far the most important aspect of a char, conversely race probably determines 95% of your story so having one of every profession and one of every race should be the minimum to experience the majority of the game.

Sure, in GW1 (vanilla, that is: just prophecies) we got less slots than professions but we had dual professions so with 3 slots you could still experience all six professions and have a slot free for a pvp character. Now that dual professions and pvp characters are out the above line of thought becomes reasonable imo.

• AsheramAsheram Member EpicPosts: 5,071