Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Player - 45 day review (May 2010)

OldManFunkOldManFunk Member Posts: 894

After hearing good things about Runes of Magic I started playing Runes of Magic around March 30th 2010.

My first impression was, "Is this an illegitimate WoW private server?" Don't get me wrong, RoM is very different from WoW... but it's clear that RoM borrowed a great deal from WoW. The similarities are undeniable.

RoM is the most complete free to play (read: Item $hop) game that I have ever played. Its dual class system offers a lot of variety, there are a TON of quests, they have a PvP system that is similar to WoW's and even end game PvE raids.

RoM has a macro / addon system that is almost identical to vanilla WoW. You can write complex LUA scripts that let you play the game with a single button, no kidding. I play my Knight/Priest by pressing one single button over and over while my script decides what to do. ( http://forum.us.runesofmagic.com/showthread.php?t=33610 )

Yes, you can write scripts that let you play the game with one button. Yes, a player can often make better decisions than the automated macro... but the opposite is also true. If you ever did end-game raids in vanilla WoW then you know all that you need to know about how these scripts and addons can, for better or worse, turn the game into a single button mash-fest.

RoM is an Item $hop game. RoM has 4 different game currencies; Gold, Diamonds, Rubies and Phirius Tokens.

Gold is obtained in-game only from selling junk to vendors and doing quests.

Diamonds are obtained through the Item $hop with real money (current rates are 2 to 5 cents per Diamond depending on the sale price and the amount purchased).

Rubies are rewarded to people who spend Diamonds.

Phirius Tokens come from doing Daily Quests (10 daily quests per day, 10 tokens from almost all daily quests).