Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

More xp, less chance of beta

Has anyone ever felt like the more mmorpg and beta tests you do, the less of a chance you'll get to get into a new one?

When I first started applying to betas I was getting in left and right.  Now I usually have to find a beta key somewhere to get into any.  Could it be that devs think that players with more experience are going to be too critical or something?

I dunno, just a thought.  Someone mentioned it on another site, and it came to my attention that I felt the same way.  Next beta I'm going to say I am new to mmorpg's and see what happens.

Comments

• ravenmystravenmyst Member UncommonPosts: 55

It could be a possibility but I dont think that's what usually happens. I'm not sure how long you have been doing beta tests for games, but back in the earlier days of mmos devs actually wanted the players to test out the game and actively look for bugs, exploits and such and therefore looked for people that had experience in doing that kinda thing.  Today it's not always like that although in defense of Square Enix from my experience with FFXI they want people to look for the bugs and exploits so they can deliver a well polished and good looking game at launch.

Space available for rent.

• KhrymsonKhrymson Member UncommonPosts: 3,090

I would place a much greater chance of getting a beta invite, based on the applicant's PC specs more than anything else first!  Considering SE has said several times that FFXIV will take advantage of the latest DirectX {at least 10 or 11} and you can tell from the screenshots its gonna take a very powerful PC to run it!