Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Any Ryzom fans out there?

arkady09arkady09 Member Posts: 245

I just started playing Ryzom a couple weeks ago.  I am still on the newbie island although close to getting off of it.  So far it seems pretty cool. 

The crafting is dependent on the mats and allows you to add whatever extra thing you want to.  So the items are more unique. 

The people seem pretty mature.

It seems possible to make money pretty readily.

There is housing.

It is free.

On the con side, I die alot but that's probly because I picked crafting, not fighting or magic.  And I hear that changes as you progress.

Any thoughts from people who are farther along in the game than I am?

Comments

• GilgameeshGilgameesh Member UncommonPosts: 412

Hello and welcome to Atys.

Consider looking the Ryzom forum section where you can find many posts from the community.

Anyway, choosing only crafting is a tough choice in Ryzom. The planet is much more dangerous than the starting island so, if you don't plan to work on your fight/magic skills, you'll need a lot of effort.

It's still doable, but without skill points from the combat skills you will be using the same points from crafting to get stats upgrades, so it's easy to imagine that it will be a hard work.

Consider also that, despite you can buy the mats for crafting from merchants and players, it will cost you a lot of money, so normally crafters are also harvesters.

Anyway if you rely with friends, and if you like a real challenge, you can do it.

Nickname registered on www.mynickname.org

• arkady09arkady09 Member Posts: 245

Hmm, I don't see a Ryzom forum section here in MMORPG.  Where is it?  I posted on MMORPG in part to make people aware of Ryzom.  There have been an influx of former Conanites who are disgusted with the game join Ryzom, but just figured I'd let others know if they are out there.