Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What's the cause of population loss?

I'm new to DaoC, and am really loving it so far. I've played every major MMO out there. However,  I cannot seem to pinpoint what caused Daoc to start a downfall. Obviously the population is getting bad, but why?

What major error did the developers make? I ask this because we can easily explain the reason for a game to become deserted. For example, SOE screwed SWG with the combat revamp and other stupid implimentations like that. That's widely known and recognizable. UO's downslide wad caused by the introduction of Trammel and item based gameplay. WoW's badpoint is too much raid content.

Now, what is Daoc's major flaw that has caused it to lose so much of the player base?

Comments

• jor8888jor8888 Member Posts: 378

Quit and take a break b4 the WAR.

Sell accounts get some money b4 Daoc is shut down.

New DEV got no clue how to balance.

Same old crap for the last 4 yrs.

• JulianDracosJulianDracos Member UncommonPosts: 1,528

This is really difficult to answer.  There was not "one" thing, but rather a pattern of neglect.  First, in order for a game to survive it needs to bring in enough people to make up for those that cancel.  You also need to bring in enough new people to make up for the fact that older players play less.  The problem is that people do not pay attention to that and only subscriber numbers.  Here is roughly the "major" mistakes that the developers made:

1.  Allowing second accounts to be used as buffs.  This used to not be the case but they allowed it and this allowed people to level up to 50 an account and then PL/Buff a second account.  This had impacts for groups but also for RvR.