Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Learning curve

numaticnumatic Member UncommonPosts: 670

I'm coming from most major MMO's and recently LOTRO (maxed out there and several lvl 30 toons) and just got kinda bored with it. I had always been interested in FFXI but alot of negs put me off the time it was released. Ive been watching upcoming Warhammer and AoC but they both seem to lack anything im truely interested in and i'm not quite sure how there unique PvP and ocmbat features will add up so im waiting until others play during release or open beta to determine that.

However I was wondeirng how the learning curve is for FFXI, and coming in as a complete newbie will be? I've heard that grouping shouldn't be too difficult but with me being a complete newbie, how hard is it to to learn the game as it stands? I know alot of people can't stand grouping with someone who doesn't know what they are doing.

Thanks for the input.

Comments

• Reaper_EmberReaper_Ember Member Posts: 90

Its honestly not that bad. The controls are a little different, compared to people that are used to WoW and such, but not hard to master.

The guide that comes with a copy of the game teaches the basics, and if you need further help, you can go to the PlayOnline site and watch the tutorial videos.

Gameplay is quite good. Battles are delay-based, as with most MMOs.

Game is party-based, so at about lvl 10 and on, you'll be relying on parties for EXP.

Quests are usually self-explanitory, but if you need help, feel free to hit up ffxi.somepage.com or ffxi.allakhazam.com

Equipment is diverse and good looking.

Large content updates every 2-3 months.

PvP is controlled. You can only PvP in Ballista matches (usually takes place every 30 min-1 hr) and you win gil and such from a successful match.

Plenty of content for low, mid, and high levels.

RIP: Masamunex - 75PLD/37WAR Ramuh