Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

theft get banned

2»

Comments

• chriswsmchriswsm Member UncommonPosts: 383

I know from experience that CCP hands out short term bans without much forethought and they have a nasty habit of jumping to conclusions.   I got a 4 day ban last year for mislabelling something I sold on escrow.  I was a noob and didn't have a clue what I was doing so I thought it rather harsh to say the least to ban someone for noobism.  Especially seeing there were no clear instructions for selling on escrow, the little instruction there was included many abbreviations without a glossary.  I was so pi**ed off I cancelled and didn't play for another 8 months.

Mind you freezing an account while investigating possible fraud/hacking is justified.  I have heard of it happening on EQ2 as well and I imagine that other games and organisations would do the same under the circumstances.

If CCP froze the account.  Investigated the event in a timely manner.  Reactivated the account.  =  Professional approach with no harm done.     Fair Play.

I used to visit this site a lot however in recent years it has become the home of negative forum posts, illogical opinions and tantrums so I visit less often.

Played or Beta'd: UO / DAOC / Horizons / EQ2 / DDO / EVE / Archlord / PirateKingsOnline / Tabula Rasa / LOTRO / AOC / Champions / Darkfall / Mortal Online / DCUO / Rift / STO / SWTOR / TSW

• METALDRAG0NMETALDRAG0N Member Posts: 1,680

Originally posted by Kyleran

I dunno, I'm new to EVE so I'm not sure how feasible this is... but if a major theft like this occurred, I'd marshal all resources to hunt the offender down to the rest of his days.  No corporation or alliance would be permitted to harbor him, we'd go to war immediately, both in Empire and free space against anyone who harbored the person....