Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Good computer bad performance

mo0rbidmo0rbid Member Posts: 363
I recently started playing AO.

My computer:

3800+ amd 64 x2 (dualcore)

7600GT XXX

2048mb RAM 533mhz

I can run EQ2 very smoothly but not this game. why? I'm always experiencing constant fps problems WHY?

any help would be usefull

(I have set so that 1 CPU works on client.exe) otherwise the game is really fckd

help

Comments

• mo0rbidmo0rbid Member Posts: 363

I have to agree with you. I *think* that the numbers of new paying costumers is almost none existant. I cant really see why they dont just make it all free or atleast fix the game so its playable. It's a great game and all. I like it when its really hard but I rubberband alot and my fps sucks : / its really too bad. they should make everything free or atleast take some months to fix the engine the game runs on

offtopic: I see that you're into WAR, I hope to be seeing you on release ; )

• AbronzAbronz Member Posts: 126

I think it has to do with the fact that AO uses an older version of Direct X and therefore does not use much of the graphic power of the video card.  It relys more or less on the CPU for everything.

One of the upgrades Funcom plans on doing is to use a newer graphics engine so that the game uses the video card more.  This will hopfully knock out most of the lag.

It's funny, I have a 8800 and dual core and the game runs bad.

• LaoZhuZongLaoZhuZong Member Posts: 62

I have not use a dual core system before, but what I've read from other 'old game' forum, ppl used to change the client program to 1 particular core and problem is solved.

Have you been able to try that out?

If it doesn't work, don't blame me.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/909944

...since you didn't specify what the actual symptom of the problem.....

another example....

http://myeve.eve-online.com/ingameboard.asp?a=topic&threadID=438186