Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Thinking of trying, but i lack info

HairyGoatBoyHairyGoatBoy Member Posts: 13

Im thinking of buying Ultima Online, however before i do i would like to ask the people of this forum a few questions.  Before i ask away i will state a few things about me that might help you in your answers. First thing is that im a casual player. Game time might only be 1 to 3 hours a night if that. The only MMOG's i have played are FFXI for a year and WoW for a year and a half.  1. As a brand new player will i be able to start a character and level him up without being overwhelmed by the players who have been playing for 5 or 10 years. What i mean is, considering everyone else  has been playing the game for years will i just being ignored by them or pk'ed by them just becase im a newb? Is it still possible to start UO this late in its life and be successfull in it?

2. Roughly how much time does a person have to invest into a character to make him good. When i played FFXI, the level 50+ grind is what forced me to quit that game.  As i am casual player i dont expect to be super uber dragon slayer but i would like to not die from the first flea bite that i recieve. 

3.  What is the economy like and how does it work.  How will money be earned in UO? Is it easy to be financialy viable in this game? When i played i had no problems making money from crafting and dungeon running. I always had 1000+ gold in WoW.  However when i played FFXI i could barely support my myself financialy. I certainly couldnt afford the +1 of any armour in that game.

4. How dificult is the crafting in this game? I hated crafting in FFXI as it was to difficult  and time consuming for me to do. However in WoW i was a very successful alchemist.