Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Scamming Prevention

bailyesbailyes Member Posts: 188

I have made this topic to help you avoid those annoying scammers around MapleStory. If you follow all of my instructions, you will be less likely to get scammed.

My Background
I have been gaming on online games for 7 years now. I used to scam all the time on all the games I have been on. I have been banned at some point on every game I have played. So I'm guessing I know all the tricks of scamming... well almost. When I scammed when I was 8, I would take the items and money and run away and never return. When I was 11, I'd take the items and money and then I'd feel guilty and give it all back. I guess scamming has alot to do with your feelings. I used to get to know people very well and then at the last moment when they trusted me, I'd take all their stuff. Now I'm 15 and I'd like to make up to everyone by helping to prevent scammers doing what I've done in the past.

Drop Game
This scam happens 100s of times everyday. Almost everyone over lvl 30 has seen this scam happened or have fallen for it at some point. I like writing things in steps and it's easier to read so:

1. Someone (any lvl) will say "Who wants to play drop game?"
2. Follow him/her into the room that they say.
  (if mage lvl 30+)
3. They will stand above you in a room and ask you to drop stuff under them.
  (if not mage lvl 30+)
3. They will stand very close to you and ask you to drop
  (a hacker)
3. They can stand anywhere as long as they see what you're dropping
4. When you drop the item, the scammer will grab it and leave.

Password Scam

This is quite a popular scam. This is what will happen:

1. Scammer will say something like "If you say your password, it comes up like this: ********"
2. They ask you to do it and if you do, your password will show
3. They can get into your account.