I found out right away that the GW2 base game went free. I installed the game and logged into my old trial account from 2 and 1/2 years ago.
I had 3 characters and I decided to check out some gw2 wiki's to figure out what professions I wanted to play and which I wasn't really into.
So I decided I definitely wanted to play Engineer and Necromancer. The 3 characters I had where Engineer,Elementalist and Ranger.
I figured Elementalist would be my third choice so I'll leave it and I'll just delete the ranger and replace it with a Necromancer, and if/when I upgrade later I can just remake the Ranger.
So after I delete the ranger it's slot becomes locked and I am like "oh ***k". I realized my mistake and then I found out the Ranger would of gotten a 3yr bday gift in a few months that I could of used, so I contacted support to see if they would restore it for me.
I was told ...
"We are not able to recover or restore individual characters. Please note, the character deletion process was designed to prevent accidental deletion through a confirmation process that requires the second entry of the character’s name and a second acceptance of the fact that the deletion is desired and intended.
If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us."
So I'm kinda sad about this situation I've gotten myself into and I've lost interest in buying the game. I've been in this situation of being screwed when joining an mmo and it haunted me while I played.
I don't want to upgrade and then everythime I log in I will be reminded of how I screwed up and how ArenaNet/NCSoft wouldn't help me.
I hope nobody else makes my stupid mistake.
EDIT: I'm probably going to just wait for Expansion to come out and see what people have to say about the game then.