Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

PK's. How should they be dealt with?And the ppl they killed?

Hello there! Im new to mmorpgs and havent played any,yet. Im a student studying computer games design and over the past week have been reading up on mmorpgs.
The area of PK's and the ppl they have killed is something which really caught my attention. Some of the solutions applied by some games are terrible! From one game where players had to ask,"may i kill/attack you?"(this one had me in stitches) too others where PK's were running riot due to there being no consequences for thier actions at all!
What about the player which has been killed, what should happen to them? Currently games allow the killed to re-appear with everything at a set point in the game-world. Their items, their stats and health all unchanged! Come on, they just died!
As i said im just getting to know mmorpgs and am looking for peoples opinion on this area from both avid players and anyone who has one.

Phil

Comments

• TMcCTMcC Member Posts: 218
    The best "pk situation" that I ever witnessed was old school UO. Pkers could attack anybody that was outside guarded towns and if they did kill the other player there was a free for all on looting. After 5 pks in a certain amount of time{40 hours with out another kill to put it in a short description} the players name became red and others could attack him on site without the chance of becoming grey or a criminal. What you commented on about the "may I attack you" bs is a joke and anybody that likes this game play isnt really a role player IMO. Look up Dragon Empires and Darkfall. Hopefully these games wont sell out like the other MMOS and have consensual pvp. They are promising that they arent going to......we'll have to wait and see. O and by the way Horizons sucks and so does WOW. image