Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What is a Living Breathing World MMO? Any examples of one of these MMOs talked about here?

1235»

Comments

• PhaserlightPhaserlight Member EpicPosts: 3,072
    Well, in Vendetta Online you get space weather.  Hive AI will scout locations for expansion then depending on whether or not it encounters resistance will choose to occupy territory (also dependent on the resource usefulness of that area), players will barter with each other, form alliances, pirate each other, build epic drama arcs... NPC convoys will travel from station to station carrying items that are in demand at the destination (these convoys can also be pirated by players, causing the destination to become resource-depleted).

A lot of this isn't that obvious up front, but it becomes more obvious the longer you play.  After 14 years, I am still learning new things about the game.  More on this as it relates to the thread topic later...

Others have mentioned Ryzom, Wurm, Eve Online, I would even say Rift had aspects of a living breathing world.  The last time I played WoW was in 2007, but I wouldn't include it among this list.  Don't get me wrong, it's an excellent game (rated the best MMORPG of all time by this site), but when I played I didn't feel like I was having any effect on the world or that my actions would create tangible ripples of any kind.  In all the other games I listed this was the case, dependent on...

Time scales.

Take Vendetta for example (I'm about to get a little critical here, shocking I know); in the beginning you may or may not feel as though you were part of a "living, breathing world".  My guess is that you will, due to the largeness of the world.  This is true of most MMORPGs, however.