Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

*RANT* I am now simply clicking through the story...

QuicksandQuicksand Member UncommonPosts: 683
*Disclaimer, I dont think there are, but there may be some very, very, minor MSQ spoilers*

So, I started playing FFXIV back when it released, and like many others, I felt there was definitely something potentially good there, but covered by a lot of problems, so I left shortly after. 

Then they relaunched as ARR, and I kept thinking I would go back and check out the changes, but, with so many free games I was actually enjoying, going back to paying a sub for something I wasn't certain would be any better didn't make any sense. Until that is, I happened across a video on youtube highlighting the Dark Knight (one of the Heavensward expansion classes)

I then started watching several other videos on The Dark Knight and before long, decided to re-up my sub, buy HW expansion, jump in and become a Dark Knight!

After logging in and not seeing my old character anywhere (I later found out they have multiple Datacenters holding many, many servers, of which, held my old toons). No biggie, I never got any job very high (max was 22) so I just kept rolling with my new guy. Dark Knight here I come....

Not so fast, turns out, I must get my starting class (DK was an expansion class and not available at creation, makes sense) to lvl 10 before I can go get my new Job, the DK. So I power on with a class I didn't actually come back to play, but not a big deal, I am enjoying the game overall. So, onward! After reaching level 10, I discover that I can only chose classes in my city, atleast until I reach lvl 20 and do the flying ship quest and gain access to the other main cities. Ok, I have enjoyed the story, the combat is improved from the old version, I shall get to 20 to become my desired class!