Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I have been playing mmo's for 20 years...

Comments

• NellusNellus Member UncommonPosts: 247

I'm not a fan of when people throw a years number out there as an attempt to lend merit to their argument. I agree with the OP on that. Unless clearly stated like that I tend to brush it off as simply throwing the number on the table, and nothing more.

I do, however, wish it was listed on the left pane under our avatars. It's useful. When I'm replying to someone who has been playing for three years I'm less likely to cite EQ as an example, or World of Warcraft, or even the first Guild Wars. There's no point in citing examples that person isn't as likely to understand as more recent ones. In a very subjective debate, like opinions on MMOs, our opinions serve as the crutches to most of our points. We have population, subscriber, and longevity data.. but not a lot of other concrete figures to work with. Only our personal experiences.

- Nellus

• GdemamiGdemami Member EpicPosts: 12,342

Originally posted by Kyleran

Even if there's a ring of truth to them?  Or perhaps especially because it might be true?Something is holding the genre back.

Circular reasoning. Maybe try something that isn't logically flawed...

• DistopiaDistopia Member EpicPosts: 21,183
    Originally posted by SEANMCAD
    Originally posted by Distopia

Even if there's a ring of truth to them?  Or perhaps especially because it might be true?

Something is holding the genre back.

WHo decides this? that's the problem with such statements.

your right!

the only problem with you being right is that we are still stuck with the same games

I don't disagree, these aren't the games I'd like to see, I just don't let that guide me into saying my choice is better. For some it obviously isn't, the way I look at it is,  the same way as any other medium, I'm a dinosaur at this point as far as taste is concerned.