Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The main problem is game design

d_20d_20 Member RarePosts: 1,878

Okay, I'm not an expert in game design. I'm just a guy who plays a lot of games. There is a lot about this game that I love. But if we are going to be honest, there are a lot of problems as well. The things I'm going to talk about are, of course, based on my experiences in the game and my observations of my guild's participation in the game.

TLDR: Because of (faulty in my opinion) game design, this game will go ftp within the year. I know others have predicted this. I hate this and I wanted to believe it was not true. My reasoning is below.

1 XP Potion Placeholder for future CS? I got this item as a quest reward. Tonic of Accelerated Time. When I got it, the name sounded like something that might give an xp boost. I couldn't use it. Here is a thread in the official forum. http://forums.elderscrollsonline.com/discussion/82790/tonic-of-accelerated-time

I didn't see why it would be necessary to get through the level 1-50 content, but after reaching VR 1, I can now see that a lot of people would be interested in this type of potion because of the game design making the VR levels much harder to get through.

2 This game needs a lot of people in AvA (Cyrodiil) to be fun in the long-term, but fewer people are participating. This game was designed around three faction pvp in a very large open zone. If it is empty and if people are not participating, the heart of the game is gutted. Questing won't keep people around for long. And leveling alts is not attractive in this game. If people hit a wall grinding VR levels, they will quit.