Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The One Old School RPG to rule them all!

KnotwoodKnotwood Member CommonPosts: 1,103

As I played over the last few days, I realized something more.  I've grown older since I started playing MMORPG's.  Quite a bit older.  Old enough to call myself an old school gamer.

I grew up in the days when Movies like Conan the Barbarian, Willow, Dragon Slayer, Legend, Lady Hawke, The Beastmaster, King Authur, and countless Mythology movies that were all Top Movie Hits.  Those were the days of High Adventure.  This is what we loved in the old school days of D&D and gaming. 

When EQ came out it was like the adventures we got to see in epic high adventure type movies,  soon after we seen EQOA and other games of that genre.   These games appealed to old schoolers, as time moved on, SOE created the monster EQ2 and WoW came out which started a path away from HIgh Adventure.   Then came Age of Conan, a game which was wholely unfinished, and hurt the Old School games, not because it wasn't great, but because of hits horrible launch.

Old schoolers then seen a movment of the MMO industry away from High adventure titles, until LOTRO.  It was the beacon of hope for Old Schoolers, and till this day, both EQ and LOTRO are still strong.   Since then we have seen Movies like Lord of the Rings do really well in theaters and TV series Game of Thrones, which is a #1 hit, which brought a glimmer of hope to my eyes once again, seeing that old school money and instrest is not completely dead!