Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chain Quest don't belong in an mmo !

delete5230delete5230 Member EpicPosts: 7,081

Whats with developers making mmos with massive chain quest.

My friends started the bata a few weeks ago and today was my first.  Because of the chain quest they could not play together, so they came to me to help out and none of us could do anything.  I'll admit I'm new to ESO and don't know much but the classics like EQ1 and EQ2, Vanilla WoW and so many others got it right by having quest hubs that you stayed in for days ( 10 slow levels worth ).  You played with friends you made new ones by questing togeather.....Now there all story driven !

I'm kind of mad right now because I need an mmo.

- I would like to play with friends.

- I would like to make new ones. 

- I would like to join a guild and play with others at random.

Comments

• Lord.BachusLord.Bachus Member RarePosts: 9,686

I love chain quests, as they are perfect for telling stories..

just dont play MMOs with chain quests and you willbe fine

Best MMO experiences : EQ(PvE), DAoC(PvP), WoW(total package) LOTRO (worldfeel) GW2 (Artstyle and animations and worlddesign) SWTOR (Story immersion) TSW (story) ESO (character advancement)

• DamonVileDamonVile Member UncommonPosts: 4,818

I know the feeling OP. chain quests are good for story telling but they're bad from group dynamics as they are. They need better ways to allow people to join those chains than what most mmos have implemented right now.

Like most things in mmos, grouping always seems to be an after thought.

• KyleranKyleran Member LegendaryPosts: 43,435
    Originally posted by Lord.Bachus

Which is perfectly fine in a single player game.  In a MMORPG where you want (or should want) to group with other people while exploring the content too often everyone is locked out from playing with each other.