Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Perma Death in an MMORPG

akiira69akiira69 Member UncommonPosts: 615
Ever since I started playing MMORPG's in 2001 I've heard request after request from players asking developers to make a Perma Death System in their MMO. Well SOE made a game with Perma Death titled Wizardry Online and no one played it. So this year SOE will be shutting down Wizardry Online and to all of you who wanted a Perma Death system you only have your selves to blame for it shutting down. You ask for the system then when someone makes the game you completely ignore it.

"Possibly we humans can exist without actually having to fight. But many of us have chosen to fight. For what reason? To protect something? Protect what? Ourselves? The future? If we kill people to protect ourselves and this future, then what sort of future is it, and what will we have become? There is no future for those who have died. And what of those who did the killing? Is happiness to be found in a future that is grasped with blood stained hands? Is that the truth?"

Comments

• SuperNickSuperNick Member UncommonPosts: 460

Er.. I played this.

It's complete garbage. Boring combat, uninspired world, dated graphics and about 100 other things wrong with it.

I think there's a lot more behind the fail of this game than "it's perma death so no one played"

I assume you like it, and kudos to you; it's still a poorly designed game that wouldn't of attracted users with or without perma death.

• Ramones274Ramones274 Member Posts: 366

Yep,  what SuperNick said. That game should have never been released to the western market.

I would LOVE permadeath if done correctly.

There are two kinds of people in this world. People who pick their nose.. and liars.

• aRtFuLThinGaRtFuLThinG Member UncommonPosts: 1,387