Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Some Insight on F2P

Read this on the ESO subreddit this morning.  I thought it was very interesting. 

I am not the author of this post:

http://www.reddit.com/r/elderscrollsonline/comments/1vsez2/why_im_happy_eso_is_not_f2p_by_someone_who_works/

So I was reading through a lot of comments on ESO being Pay to Play instead of the (surprisingly) popular free to play model. First things first, I work in the free to play business as a "product optimization manager" which can be translated to "monetization maximizer".

Yes f2p games are basically free to play, but let's be honest, if the companies behind them wouldn't make money the model would simply not exist.

The problem I have with f2p games is that I know the drive behind developing patches and content for one. You are no longer concerned with what your users actually want or what would be cool to add to the game, you are only concerned with how to get their money by pretending to give them what they want.

All f2p games strive to maximize their ARPU which is the average revenue per user. Whether you earn money with a free to play game or not is a simple equotation:

If your ARPU is Higher than your CPL you have basically won. CPL means cost per lead, it's the cost of acquiring a new user for your game with marketing, cooperations or other "user generating activities"

For MMOs the calculation is a bit trickier, because you have higher running costs on the serverside and for support as, for example, a Clash of Clans or Candy Crush Saga. So you have to get the ARPU even higher to become profitable.