Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Of how i lost my WoW guild to Bob. (rant/vent)

Comments

• danmax67danmax67 Member UncommonPosts: 37

I was sort of 'Bob' in Eve Online.  I've been playing Eve for almost 10 years.  About 2 years ago, our little corporation of long-time friends just sort of lazily chatted and had fun.  My friend, let's call him 'Fluff', was the founder and leader of our little corp.  I decided to see if I could expand the corp., bring in new members, help new players, grow us into more activities, etc.  With much effort, we grew and grew eventually becoming an alliance.

Now here's where your Bob and I differ.  Never once did I undermine Fluff or try to sway people to me.  Rather, asked for his ok in all major decisions and kept him in the loop when I was doing something.  I always made it clear to our pilots that he is our leader, even when I was leading things and even when he was mostly taking a break from the game.

We are very easygoing and laid back, and maybe a WoW raiding guild is a different animal, but one thing I found very important was to have various people with various roles and responsibilities.  Basically, we have a group of leaders and everyone's input is wanted, positive or negative.  In Eve at least, it's just too much of a job to run an alliance by yourself anyway.  I'm not sufficiently familiar with WoW to know whether a guild leader has much other stuff to do besides raiding, but I imagine you do.  Also, I try to give credit whenever someone does things for the good of the alliance, whether it is leading a fleet or simply moving assets.  I find people really appreciate that.