Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

From Cracked: Gaming Industry Headed For A CRASH!

2»

Comments

• NadiaNadia Member UncommonPosts: 11,798
    Originally posted by lizardbones

Maybe the big change will simply be more game developers going to business school.

call me jaded but i used to work as a programmer in the healthcare industry and i saw similar trend

CEOs hired with no healthcare background but they knew about financing!

• MumboJumboMumboJumbo Member UncommonPosts: 3,219
    Most of the venture capital is going away from MMO's due to their terrible performance (themeparks). Mobile maybe is where the cash is heading (doubt that's a good move either!!).
  • GdemamiGdemami Member EpicPosts: 12,342

Originally posted by DMKano

No the CEO must be a game industry veteran with actual game dev experience - in this case MMORPG dev experience, he will have money awareness as you can't be a head of huge MMO dev team without budget planning.However, the CFO is someone with real money awareness, who works closely with the CEO. CEO does not lead a company - the board does, the CEO is there to provide the vision and his instinct to what games to persue.The problem of having a non-mmo designer/director/dev as a CEO is they lack *vision* for the company and having the *nose* for a good game project that is worth investing into.A business guy will say *I like this game* - but he has no experience to whys, hows and where to take it - he's got no sense of what makes the games and gamers tick. 

You do not understand what COE role in company is.

CEO is who leads. Person making the decisions and strategy for the company.

• PurutzilPurutzil Member UncommonPosts: 3,048
    Originally posted by bcbully